London Diaries


Heya folks!

Just last week,I landed in New Delhi,with so much knowledge ,history and culture,I decided its worth sharing with you my travel experience.I am not that travel blogger who writes 5 ornamental words at a stretch in a sentence to describe how the food tastes like to how the place looks. 😛 I am rather a blogger who will tell what to see in a location,food to try and what to buy.Simple and straight forward!bear with me….:-D I am dividing my tour in small parts.Today I will be sharing my London tour.

I had a 18 days/17 nights Europe tour which involved visiting the prominent locations only.This was a highlight tour so if you want a detailed country tour,its best to go on your own.I traveled with my family in a group tour.All our hotel stays,coaches,air tickets and cruises alongwith food was organized by our travel company Thomas Cook.

Our flight was with Etihad Airways which is known for its hospitality and I am not complaining. 😀 After approximately 10 hours flight,London welcomed us.

Day 1– Since we reached around 3 PM in London,it was a resting day for people who are jetlagged.We decided to go for a walk after dumping our luggage in the hotel.I stay in India,so there is a drastic landscape change when we go abroad.The air we breathed,is definitely fresh and cool.It was refreshing actually.We just strolled the streets,clicked the double decker buses which is prominent in Europe and couldn’t help noticing Indians who are staying there.Yes! our people can be seen everywhere in London from the Visa desk to shopowner.

It was a wonderful evening .Families came out in the parks to relax.While in Delhi,its hot as hell but entire Europe is on the cooler side with temparatures ranging between 4-21 degree Celsius everywhere.We headed back to the hotel,from where the tour manager took us for dinner at a restaurant and then we were off to sleep in our rooms.We were staying in St. Giles,near the airport whose room rent started from 45 pounds.

Day 2-We woke up early around 6 AM as we had loads of places to cover.We had a coach for our group which took us around London and stayed with us for entire 2 days. We visited the famous Swaminarayan temple made from Italian Carrara marble.It is a Hindu temple with intricate designs done from the marble and gold.Since we were an Indian group,so we were shown that.After that we had a guided city tour covering London’s landmarks : the Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, the Big Ben,Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Tower Bridge, River Thames and many more.We were lucky enough to watch the changing of guards infront the Buckingham palace where the new shift and old shift of guards change their places to guard the palace for next 24 hours.The guards wore the obvious red garb which we have heard of.Trafalgar square has gone for a revamped look.Most of the old pictures or in movies,you may have seen flock of pigeons in the square but now for cleanliness and hygiene,people have been stopped from feeding them and so the pigeons have stopped coming.It is more of a square with a large fountain in the middle.

In the evening we were given some shopping time on the famous Oxford street.You can look up anywhere,and each travel book or site will tell you it’s a shopping haven.Budget shoppers can find their stuff in Primark.It is a huge store and you will see Londoners and tourists jostling for space.Very good quality stuff at cheap prices.Its a family shopping place.For women,you would be interested in Boots.I had my list with me and being a beautyblogger as well,I was bound to shop there.

Next we headed to guided tour of the world famous Wimbledon museum, a dream for every Tennis lover.It is a 1 hour tour where they show you the tennis courts,their untouchable grass (really!) and their trophies from the past.

Day 3– Who can miss the reknowned Madame Tussaud’s wax museum?Once you enter,its  like a real red carpet.Glitzy attires adorned the celebrities and you can get yourself clicked with your fav celeb.It has a taxi ride,which is an indoor ride.It takes you through various phases of London history-the great London fire,the kings and queens and so on.Lastly,they have a 4D movie with Marvel heroes.I was eagerly waiting for something else.I had come out of it earlier,and on my wishlist was the Sherlock Holmes museum.

There is a statue of him on Baker street and museum dedicated to him.I was delighted to find it as it wasn’t in our itenary and I so much longed to see it.It has a shop with souvenirs and the museum is upstairs.

We ended our Day 3 with a ride on London Eye and a 4D movie associated with it.It is a 30 min ride and is a must.It is a wonderful observatory through which you can see the entire panorama of London.On our way to catch our ferry,we had a chance with the London bridge or Kensington bridge.The iconic arch and the structure welcomed us and we couldn’t help but sing along the nursery rhymes that reminded us of London bridge.

DSC02076

Kensington bridge

Our next stop was in DJ world or let’s say the XXX world of Amsterdam.We had boarded a ferry/cruise from the UK port to reach the next day.There’s more to Amsterdam seriously.To read about my journey in Amsterdam,please wait for another week.Enough for today I guess. 😛

Thank you for reading my post. 🙂 If you like my posts,don’t forget to subscribe here by clicking on ‘follow by e-mail’ in the righthand pane . Also follow me on Instagram at @simplybful and Twitter @simplybful for crazy snippets from my life and beauty world.Find me on Pinterest @simplybful to know what I love in hair and makeup.

See you all in my next post,Take care,bye :-)

PS:Click on the pictures to see the caption

Please do not reuse the pictures with / without modification without taking my permission.All these have been taken by me and my family,so kindly respect my wish.

 

4 thoughts on “London Diaries

  1. Pingback: Amsterdam travelogue | Simplybeautiful

  2. Pingback: Deutchland Reisebericht(Germany travelogue) | Simplybeautiful

Leave a Reply

