Amsterdam travelogue


Heya!

Sometime back,I shared my London travelogue with you.If you haven’t read it,click here.This travelogue follows my trip from London.

Overnight the ferry,we were treated to a luxurious dinner and bedding arrangement.We were lucky to get the port side room. Our cruise ship,named Stena line covered the journey from Harwich port to Hook of Holland .It departed from Harwich at 23:00 and reached Holland at 8 AM.You can know about its fare and details on this sitehttp://www.stenaline.co.uk/ferry-to-holland

IMG_20160420_002609

Ferry room-That’s our room!

Our coach was waiting for us,and drove straight to Keukenhof,the land of Tulips.On the way,the windmills greeted us.You could literally see them everywhere.Amsterdam is known for its windmills,tulips,the wooden shoes and dairy,apart from the more modern form of occupation. 😛

DSC02257

Keukenhof is a synonym of paradise(according to me).Your eyes will have the opportunity to absorb varied hues of tulips ranging from canary yellow to mysterious violet.The keukenhof garden was teaming with tourists from all the countries.It has many entry points and you could easily get lost in there.The garden representatives provide you with a ticket and a map to find your way through it.The entry gate,through which we were told to go,had a fountain and a traditional Dutch musical instrument.It was playing some traditional tunes which I actually liked.It was in sync with the surroundings.

IMG_20160420_141051

Music instrument at the entrance of Keukenhof

We were moving forward towards the old windmill situated in the garden.It was still working!We climbed it up and saw the infinite tulip beds in red,yellow and God knows what all colors they are.We were told Tulips were being harvested since May beginning,so we might not see the grand tulip scene.Anyway,we were contented by what we saw.

 On climbing down,we found a wooden shoe and I knew,I have to get my picture taken with it. I am a child, I guess.

DSC02279

The famous wooden shoe

The garden is very big,and you can easily spend a day in there.We had one hour slot with us and came back to our coach to take us to Amsterdam city.Amsterdam city is full of canals.Our canal cruise was for an hour,which took us through important canals housing important buildings.The cruise was a small boat which had inbuilt audio system .It described the history of Amsterdam and about its buildings while the cruiseboat took us through narrow canals.After the cruise ended,we were taken to Dam square.

DSC02350

Various cruise boats

 Dam square– the real heart of Amsterdam, where the Royal Palace, the Nieuwe Kerk and the War Memorial overlooks the vast and bustling open space. When we were there,some sort of mini carnival was going on with electro music in the background.You know right,Amsterdam influenced lot of musicians. Adjacent to it,for an hour,we roamed the shops.I had to get my Gouda cheese which was for 8 Euros.Souvenir shops were interesting.You could literally see sex toys lined up in the aisles near the souvenirs.Imagine my horror,when my parents were buying souvenirs from there. 😀

DSC02362

Dam square

I also bought Stroopwafels,Holland’s traditional biscuit/cookie. I got the caramel variant as that was devoid of any nutty factor.From there,the coach took us to Madurodam. All throughout the year, it is open,where you can see most of Holland in miniature, replicated in minute detail on a 1:25 scale.Remember the doll houses? It is like that.The entire city of Holland is built in there.

Their language,Dutch is officially spoken there,but you can easily get by if English is the foreign language.

I wish I had more time in Amsterdam.It is amazing for its nightlife as well,but looks like,I will have to come with my besties next time. 😉

Thank you for reading my post. 🙂 If you like my posts,don’t forget to subscribe here by clicking on ‘follow by e-mail’ in the righthand pane . Also follow me on Instagram at @simplybful and Twitter @simplybful for crazy snippets from my life and beauty world.Find me on Pinterest @simplybful to know what I love in hair and makeup.

See you all in my next post,Take care,bye :-)

4 thoughts on “Amsterdam travelogue

  1. Hello! I’ve been reading your weblog for some time now and
    finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out
    from Porter Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Deutchland Reisebericht(Germany travelogue) | Simplybeautiful

Leave a Reply

